Skip to main content

Zosel and Dineen lead Benson wrestling team in 2019-20

Lead Summary

The Benson wrestling team announced its season-ending awards recently and among the awardwinners for the 2019-20 season were Adam Zosel, Thomas Dineen, Nathan Bolduc, Teegan Hogrefe, Alden Syltie, and Eh do la Wah.  The Benson wrestling team closed out the recently-completed season with a 7-18 overall record, which included a 1-5 mark within the WCC.

The Braves started out fast, going 3-2 in their first five matches, but injuries and illnesses took a toll over the final two months of the season as Benson lost six-straight matches to drop to 3-8 overall and then went 4-10 over its final 14 matches.  Benson earned the seventh seed in the 10-team Section 5A Tourney and beat 10th-seeded Ortonville in the first round (54-21) before losing to second-seeded BBE in the quarterfinals (71-9).

Seniors lost to graduation from this year’s team, coached by head coach Scott Thompson and assistants Jason Rothers and Grant Ascheman, and volunteer coaches Pat O’Leary, Steve Ricard, Aaron Zosel, and Ryan Thompson, are Mason Abner and Carlos Gonsor...
For more on this story, and to keep up on all the latest in area sports, subscribe to the Swift County Monitor-News print edition or our PDF internet edition. Call 320-843-4111 and you can get all the local news and sports delivered to you!

Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates